By Katie Collins
Labor & Employment Law Blog
Effective January 1, 2020, California’s minimum wage rate increased to $13.00 per hour (from $12.00) for employers with 26 or more employees and $12.00 per hour (from $11.00) for employers with 25 or fewer employees. The minimum wage will continue to increase yearly until it reaches $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2022 for employers with 26 or more employees and January 1, 2023 for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
In California, many cities and counties are increasing their minimum wages faster than the state. Click here for a chart of increases set to take place in 2020.
See more writing about labor and employment law on The Labor and Employment Law Blog.